The Office of Emergency Management (OEM) engages the whole community in assessing needs and developing strategies to achieve stronger preparedness, prevention, response, and mitigation capabilities within the Santa Clara County Operational Area. 

Our office supports first responders, including fire, law enforcement, and emergency medical services in emergencies and disasters. We are also responsible for facilitating the coordination of resources from Local and State partners, community-based organizations, and faith-based organizations to provide community members with relief and supplies in an emergency or disaster. 


​​​​​​​Safeguarding lives, property, and the environment through strategic coordination of cross‐functional operations during emergency management's preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation phases. Improving the governmental, economic, and operational efficiency and resiliency of the County of Santa Clara and the entire Operational Area (Op Area).


Our vision is to lead the way to inspiration and innovation, setting the standard for Emergency Management program management, performance, engagement, capability and creating community resilience.

Management Section

Dana Reed, Director

Darrell Ray, Deputy Director

Nadia Provencio, Executive Assistant

Planning Section

Louay Toma, Senior Emergency Management Program Specialist

Jackie Koci Tamayo, Senior Emergency Planning Coordinator

Ian Hamilton, Senior Emergency Planning Coordinator

Operational Area Grant Programs, Human Resources & Mitigation Section

Michelle Sandoval, Program Manager III

Parastou Najaf, Program Manager III

Ivan Williams, Program Manager II

Jesse Villalpando, Senior Emergency Planning Coordinator

Sandi Woods, Senior Management Analyst

Yvonne Saucedo, Management Analyst

Kelly Anderson, Management Analyst

Hieu Vu, Accountant II

Logistics Section

Monica Tapia, Supervising Materials Supply Specialist

Joseph Gaona, Materials Supply Specialist

Kelly Franco, Warehouse Materials Handler

Jose Chavez, Warehouse Materials Handler

Readiness Section

Sue Sherrin, Senior Emergency Planning Coordinator

Jeff Walker, Emergency Management Program Specialist II

Kacey Treadway, Emergency Planning Coordinator

Training & Exercise Section

Rick Filippuzzi, Senior Emergency Planning Coordinator 

Michael McKeon, Program Specialist II - Emergency Management

Public Information & Outreach Section

Charles Harris, Lead Public Information Officer

All Content Copyright © 2024, County of Santa Clara, CA